Fort Ontario: 250 Years of History, 1755-2005 - George A. Reed. The old fort was first constructed in 1755 to protect the fur trading settlement at Oswego. It overlooked the Oswego River, the main route west in colonial times. For 250 years, Fort Ontario has sat on a hill overlooking the city of Oswego. It has provided protection and contributed to the economic development of the state of New York.
This short history is only the second book written on this important historic site. It covers all periods of Fort Ontario’s rich history from the French and Indian War until the end of World War II. It contains a list of all units serving at the fort, and families that lived at the fort after the war. Illustrations, photographs, a bibliography, and two appendices enhance the text. Fort Ontario also contains images of original paintings of the fort and its troops that are only available in this book. The fort remained in British hands until the Jay Treaty in 1796. The Fort saw action twice during the War of 1812. It saw no action during the Civil War, but did receive and train troop. Troops from Fort Ontario fought in the Philippines during the Spanish American War. The Fort was enlarged in 1909 and became the Flower Medical Unit, training Army doctors, nurses, and medics; and treating wounded troops from the battlefields of France. Between World Wars, Fort Ontario’s mission changed to training National Guard troops and Artillery. Its current mission is as a historic site. In this role it contributes to the economy of the state of New York.
(2007), 2008, 5½x8½, paper, 142 pp.
101-R3812 ISBN: 0788438123