First Settlers in Georgia, Volume 4, Abstracts of English Crown Grants in St. Philip Parish


Covers the period 1755-1775 and the Georgia counties of Bryan, Bullock, Candler, Chatham, Effingham, and Jenkins.

The Royal Charter of June, 1732 given by King George II to the Trustees for Establishing the Colony of Georgia in America, defined the boundaries of the new colony as lying between the Savannah and Altamaha Rivers, extending as far north as those rivers flowed and thence from their sources in a straight line to the South Seas. These are the Royal Provincial Grants abstracts by the Surveyor General Department, State of Georgia.

Marion R. Hemperley

1972, (1998), paper, 133 pp.

ISBN: 1890307122