Bexar County, Texas Biographies and Southwest Texas History


Bexar County, located in the lower middle of the state began as a municipality of San Fernando de Bexar in 1781. It became a county in 1836 when Texas declared its independence from Mexico to become The Republic of Texas which last until 1845 when it became the 28th state in the Union. In this volume, you have two sections. First there is a brief history of Southwest Texas with a separate index followed by the Biographical Section with its own index. In the Biographical Section, the subject of each sketch volunteered the information given to the writer to assure accuracy in the sketch.


paper, 96 pp.