The Mecklenburg [North Carolina] Declaration of Independence, May 20, 1775, and Lives of Its Signers


Between May 19 and 20, 1775 delegates assembled in Charlotte, North Carolina, declared Mecklenburg County independent of Great Britain, established a code of laws for their new government. These resolutions were presented to, but not ratified by, the Continental Congress. Brief biographical sketches of the signers (and a few spectators) include: Gen. Thomas Polk, Col. Abraham Alexander, Dr. Ephraim Brevard, Col. Adam Alexander, Gen. Robert Irwin, John McKnitt Alexander, Rev. Hezekiah Balch, Hezekiah Alexander, Capt. Zaccheus Wilson, Neil Morrison, Richard Barry, John Flennikin, William Graham, Matthew McClure, John Queary, Ezra Alexander, Waightstill Avery, Col. William Kennon, Col. James Harris, David Reese, Henry Downs, John Foard, Charles Alexander, Robert Harris Sr., Maj. John Davidson, Col. Ezekiel Polk, Capt. James Jack, Rev. Francis Cummings, Gen. Joseph Graham, and Gen. George Graham.

George W. Graham, M.D.

(1905, 2000), 2009, 5½x8½, paper, index, 216 pp.

ISBN: 9780788415647