The History of South Carolina Under the Proprietary Government, 1670-1719 (2 vols.)


This history of South Carolina spans the fifty-year period from the settlement of the colony under the Royal charter to the overthrow of the Proprietors' rule in 1719. The progress of the colony is traced from the settlement in Old Town on the Ashley, to its removal to Oyster Point, and finally, its "present site of the city of Charleston". "Despite political turmoil, hurricane, pestilence, and fire, the tomahawk of the Indian, and the sword of the French and Spaniard, we shall find the colony gradually developing from an emigrants' camp to social order and settled government, and carrying on successfully at their extreme end of the line of English colonies the experiment of representative government. We shall find them laying the foundation of great fortunes, building churches, quarrelling over religion, but withal strenuously maintaining it, and curiously mixing Puritan fanaticism with High Church dogma, founding schools and libraries, and laying so broad and deep the foundations of jurisprudence that that structure has continued to this day to rest upon the code of laws adopted in 1712."Appendices contain the Rules of Precedency Under Locke's Fundamental Constitutions; Devolution of Title of the Proprietary Shares in Carolina; List of Palatines; Landgraves and Caciques; List of Governors; Law Officers; Populations (1671-1719); and An Account of the Number of Ships and Vessels Entered, and of Negroes Imported from the Year 1706 to the Year 1724, Both Inclusive. A full name plus subject index adds to the value of this work.

Edward McCrady 

(1901), 2007, 5½x8½, paper, index, 2 vols., 772 pp.

ISBN: 9780788432217