The Paradise of Texas, volume 2: Clarksville and Red River County, 1846-1860


The material set forth in this two-volume series is from The Northern Standard, a weekly newspaper published in Clarksville, a small town in the northeastern corner of Texas. Founded in 1842 by Charles DeMorse, a New York lawyer and veteran of the Texas Revolution, the paper was published under his editorship for forty-six years. The paper grew to become the second largest in circulation in Texas and DeMorse himself was hailed as the Father of Texas Journalism. The Standard provided its readers with a full offering of what was happening in Clarksville, Northern Texas (as well as the rest of Texas), the nation, and even the world of the mid-1800s. Volume I focuses on Red River County and its seat, the town of Clarksville, during the years 1846 to 1860. The former Red River District of the Republic of Texas is mother county to thirty-nine present Texas counties. Volume II focuses on what happened in many of those calf counties during the same fourteen year time span: from the days of the Republic, to Statehood, and finally, the Civil War. Some of these counties were already well established, some were still developing, and others were in their infancy. Beyond these counties was the frontier with its wild native inhabitants. This rich source of names, dates and other genealogical tidbits is enhanced by indices.

Richard Marrin and Lorna Geer Sheppard

(2010), 2019, 5½x8½, paper, index, 266 pp

ISBN: 9780788443169