Abstracts of Wills and Other Records, Currituck and Dare Counties, North Carolina (1663-1850)


Currituck County was formed in 1670 as a precinct of Old Albemarle County, and portions of Currituck were later taken to form Tyrrell (1729), Hyde (1745), and Dare (1870). This work contains abstracts of all known Currituck County wills of the period 1663-1850, showing residence, locations of property, names of wives, children, executors, and witnesses, and relevant dates of probate and examination. It also contains a list of names taken from deeds of the period 1676-1725; jurymen of 1723; tax lists of 1735, 1755, and 1779; militia lists of 1758; and heads of families from the census of 1790. With an index containing approximately 11,500 references, this is widely recognized as the premier reference book for records of the Old Albemarle region of northeastern North Carolina.

Gordon C. Jones

(1958), 2005, paper, 156 pp.

ISBN: 9780806301976