Washington County, Virginia Surveys and Commissioners, Certificates, 1781-1797


Washington County was created in 1777 from Fincastle County. At the time of its creation, Washington contained the territory for the later counties of Russell (1786), Lee (1793), Scott (1814), Smyth (1832), Wise (1856), and a portion of Dickenson County (1880). The author has carefully abstracted the first surviving land book for this important county, and included all of the significant genealogical and land references. Eighteenth century survey records are quite rare, and this record should add to the sources for genealogical research in southwestern Virginia.

Tom Colley

1999, index, 409 pp.