Russell County, Virginia Deed Book 2, 1795-1798


Russell County, Virginia Deed Book 2, 1795-1798. 

Tom Colley. 1995. 

Russell County was formed in 1786 from the northern portion of Washington County. In 1792 Lee County was cut off from the western part of Russell. In 1800 a portion of Russell was taken to form part of Tazewell County, and again in 1807 and 1835 land was given to Tazewell County. Scott County's creation in 1814 removed another parcel of Russell territory. In 1856, 1858, and 1880 land was taken to form all or part of Wise, Buchanan, and Dickenson counties, respectively. In this and the following two titles, the author provides a valuable window on eighteenth-century Russell County at a time when it was the focus of a great migration movement through the area into the western lands. These will prove to be extremely valuable for Southwestern Virginia research.