Tennessee: Rutherford County

Rutherford County was established in 1803 and was named in honor of Griffith Rutherford from North Carolina where he was a colonial legislator and a general in the American Revolutionary War. Following the war, he came to middle Tennessee in the area of Rutherford County in 1794 where he served as the President of the Council of the Southwest Territory.

9 results