Gazetteer and Business Directory of Saratoga County, New York, and Queensbury, Warren County, for 1871

Formed in 1791, Saratoga County, New York, lies near the junction of the Hudson and Mohawk Rivers. The gazetteer covers the cities of Ballston, Charlton, Clifton Park, Corinth, Day, Edinburgh, Galway, Greenfield, Hadley, Half Moon, Malta, Milton, Moreau, Northumberland, Providence, Saratoga, Saratoga Springs, Stillwater, Waterford, and Wilton, along with Queensbury in Warren County. Cities are arranged alphabetically with brief descriptions of when they were formed, physical geography, and early settlement. The business directory is arranged alphabetically by city and includes the name of each business or owner, the postal address for the business, and what product or service they provided. Numerous advertisements and illustrations for products and services are included throughout - from banks and hotels, to shirt makers and sporting goods outlets. The text begins with a section detailing the date of first settlement, admittance to the union, population, suffrage legislation and more, for each state and territory in the Union, circa 1871.


Hamilton Child


ISBN: 9780788417122