CD: Abstracts of the Probate Records of Rockingham County [New Hampshire]


CD: Abstracts of the Probate Records of Rockingham County [New Hampshire] - Helen F. Evans. This CD presents the probate records of Rockingham County, NH, 1771-1799. Initially, all of New Hampshire functioned as a single county. In 1771, it was divided into five counties: Rockingham, Hillsborough, Strafford, Grafton and Cheshire. Until 1773, Grafton and Strafford were to remain with Rockingham until their populations increased sufficiently to maintain a county system. Over time, additional counties have been added such as Coos, Merrimack, Sullivan, Belknap and Carroll. Some of the original towns in Rockingham County include: Allenstown, Brentwood, Canterbury, Concord, Deerfield, East Kingston, Epsom, Exeter, Greenland, Hampton, Hawke, Kensington, Kingston, Loudon, New Castle, Newington, Newmarket, North Hampton, Pelham, Pembroke, Pittsfield, Piplin, Portsmouth, Raymond, Rye, Salem, Seabrook, South Hampton, Stratham and Windham. All are represented in the probate records abstracted here. Entries are listed in alphabetical order and include: names as spelled in the original documents, estates, guardianships, accounts and titles. Items about slaves discovered in wills, divisions, etc. have been documented. This CD uses the powerful Adobe Acrobat reader (for Windows and Macintosh, provided free on the CD). The format preserves the look of the original page and allows the user to search the text for names of people and places. When you run a search, the hits are highlighted on each page for easy identification. In addition, numerous electronic bookmarks have been added which make it easy to move through the book. This CD is best viewed with monitor resolution 800x600 or higher. (2000), 2005, CD, Searchable, Adobe Acrobat, v6, PC and Mac.

ISBN: 9780788413537