1798 Direct Tax New Hampshire District No. 13


Consisting of the Towns of Alton, Brookfield, Effingham, Middleton, New Durham, Ossipee, Tuftonboro, Wakefield, and Wolfeboro

This transcription of a portion of the 1798 Direct Tax lists is of special importance because it covers the towns in southeastern New Hampshire for which the 1800 federal census schedules are missing. Thus it provides an essential adjunct to the transcription of the extant 1800 census schedules transcribed by Threlfall. These tax lists provide the names of both the occupant and the owner of each piece of property along with its size, value, and other particulars.

John S. Fipphen

(1989), 2020, 8½x11, paper, index, 108 pp.

ISBN: 9781556132599