Winton (Barnwell) County, South Carolina Minutes of County Court and Will Book 1, 1785-1791


Lewisburg, Orange, Lexington, and Winton Counties were formed in Orangeburg District, South Carolina, in 1785. Winton County was renamed Barnwell County in 1868. Winton County "is the only county of Orangeburg District which has eighteenth century records extant. We have Winton County Court Minutes, 1786-1791, and deeds for the same period, with the wills beginning in 1787, when the circuit court districts ceased that function…This volume contains a transcription of the court minute book, which includes a tax list for the year 1787, and abstracts of the instruments in Will Book 1. The original loose wills and estate papers for the period 1787-1791 have not survived. They probably perished with the Orangeburg District records in 1865." A full name index adds to the value of this work.


Brent H. Holcomb


(1989, 2005), 2011, 5½x8½, paper, index, 184 pp.

ISBN: 9780788435102