Nevada County, Arkansas History and Biographical Sketches


Nevada County, located in the southwestern portion of the state, was organized by the General Assembly on 20 March 1871. It was subdivided into thirteen municipal townships, viz.: Broughton, Missouri, Emmet, Albany, Parker, Alabama, Taylor, Caney, Georgia, Red Land, Union, Jackson and Leake. This material was originally published by Goodspeed Publishing in the late 1800's and this reprint contains memoirs and biographies of the early pioneers. Because the information was compiled by the referenced family, it should be very accurate and detailed. This volume also contains a brief history of the county as it developed up to the time this volume was written in the 1880s.

James S. Marlar, farmer, Rosston, Ark. Mr. Marlar was born in Tennessee on April 6, 1834, and is the son of William T. Marlar, who was born in Jarvis [sic no such county] County, Tenn., on February 16, 1810 and died November 28, 1868. The maiden name of the mother was Caroline C. Baxter, who was born in Alabama in 1812, and who died in 1845. ...etc...

Goodspeed Publishing

2004, paper, 53 pp.

ISBN: 9780788498626