Russell County, Virginia Deed Book 1, 1787-1795


Russell County, Virginia was formed in 1786 from the northern portion of Washington County. In 1792, Lee County was cut off from the western part of Russell. In 1800, a portion of Russell was taken to form part of Tazewell County, and again in 1807 and 1835, land was given to Tazewell County. Scott County's creation in 1814 removed another parcel of Russell territory. In 1856, 1858, and 1880, land was taken to form all or part of Wise, Buchanan, and Dickenson counties, respectively. In this, the author provides a valuable window on eighteenth-century Russell County at a time when it was the focus of a great migration movement through the area into the western lands. This volume will prove to be extremely valuable for Southwestern Virginia research.

Tom Colley