The Third or 1820 Land Lottery of Georgia


The Third or 1820 Land Lottery of Georgia

S. Emmett Lucas, Jr.

This Lottery created 8 new counties: Appling, Early, Gwinnett, Habersham, Hall, Irwin, Raburn and Walton, which in later years have been further divided into some 48 other counties. This book is arranged in alphabetical order by surname. This book lists 30,000 fortunate drawers.  In general, the researcher will be able to gleam many different types of information from the Georgia’s Land Lotteries. The eligibility requirements of each of the Lotteries offer genealogists legal evidence of citizenship, residence in Georgia, age, family, and material status, physical infirmities, and possibly service in the Revolutionary War, the War of 1812 or Indian Wars.

1968, (2005), cloth, 382 pp.

ISBN: 9780893085858