The Natchez Court Records, 1767-1805: Abstracts of Early Records


The Natchez District covers the Mississippi counties of Adams, Amite, Claiborne, Franklin, Jefferson, Warren, and Wilkinson. In 1799, when Spain took over the rule of this area from the British, the Louisiana parishes of Carroll, Concordia, Madison and Tensas were added. Two years later, the Spanish commandant commenced to record all matters involving these British inhabitants. This book is broken into two main parts. The first part covers the records of: sureties, bills of sale for land and slaves, inventories, appraisals, wills, etc. The second part of the work, Land Claims, 1767-1805, deals with British land grants in the Natchez District and is based on abstracts of land titles submitted to the United States for confirmation of land ownership. The index mentions approximately 10,000 persons.

May Wilson McBee

(1953), 2020, paper, 645 pp.

ISBN: 9780893080235