Duplin County, North Carolina Court of Pleas and Quarter Sessions, 1795-1798 Volume 4


Duplin County, North Carolina Court of Pleas & Quarter Sessions, 1795-1798. (Vol. #4).  Leora H. McEachern. 2005.  

Duplin County was formed in 1750 from New Hanover County, NC. It is located in the Southeastern section of the state and is surrounded by the counties of: Jones, Lenoir, New Hanover, Onslow, Sampson, and Wayne. In these abstracts, one will find local office holders being appointed, the levying and expenditure of local taxes, selecting & summoning of juries, licenses being granted to operators of taverns, as well as deeds & bills of sale being acknowledge by the grantor. The Court also oversaw a wide range of matters involving estates, including probate of will, settlements of estates, and appraisement, as well as matters dealing with bastardy, and many other valuable bits of information.