Land Deeds of Jefferson County, Tennessee 1792-1814



Land Deeds of Jefferson County, Tennessee 1792-1814.

Boyd J. Holdaway

Jefferson County was originally part of the Washington District. It was formed in 1792 from portions of Greene and Hawkins Counties. From it several other counties were formed: Cocke, Hamblen and Sevier. Jefferson County was settled soon after the Revolutionary War. Most of the early settlers came from North Carolina, Virginia and some from South Carolina. This is another of the MUCH-NEEDED books on Eastern Tennessee to fill in the gaps for families migrating into and through this area on their way westward.

 1991, paper, 306 pp.

ISBN: 9780893086886