South Carolina: Pendleton District

Pendleton District was first created as Pendleton County within Ninety-Six District in 1789 from the western part of lands that were ceded by the Cherokee after the Revolutionary War (another part of the Native American cession previously was erected as Greenville County in 1786.)  In 1791, Pendleton County and Greenville County were set off from Ninety Six District into the new Washington District. In 1800, Washington District was abolished, and Pendleton County became Pendleton District. Pendleton District was split in 1826 into Anderson District and Pickens District. Records from Pendleton District were inherited by Anderson District, later Anderson County.
16 results